Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Anthropology


ANTHROPOLOGISTS IN OTHER USC SCHOOLS OR INSTITUTES

Richard D Brooks (BA Kentucky Wesleyan 1972; Co-PI, SRARP) South Carolina history, colonial frontiers, geography of US Southeast 

Email: rdbrooks@sc.edu

Christopher Ohlm Clement (Ph.D. U Florida 1995; Arch, SCIAA) Historical Arch, plantation archaeology
Email: clement@sc.edu

Chester DePratter (Ph.D. U Georgia 1983; Arch, SCIAA) Prehistoric and contact period archaeology, ethnohistory; Southeastern US
Email: depratterc@sc.edu

Keith Derting (BS Milligan C 1974; Head, Info. Mgt., SCIAA) Lithic technology, human ecology, cultural resource management; Southeastern US
Email: derting@sc.edu

Lynn B Harris (MA East Carolina U 1988; Arch; SCIAA) Archaeology, underwater, submerged archaeological resource management
Email: nautical@charleston.net

Adam King (Ph.D. Pennsylvania S. 1996; Spec Proj. Arch, SRARP) Political organization, prehistoric chiefdoms; regional change
Email: aking@sc.edu

Jonathan Leader (Ph.D. U Florida 1988; St. Arch, Interim Director of SCIAA; State Arch.; Adj. Asst Prof., Anth.) Archaeology, conservation, ethnohistory, prehistory and contact period; Eastern US
Email: leader@sc.edu

Sharon Pekrul (MA U South Carolina; Curator, SCIAA) North American archaeology, collections management
Email: pekrul@sc.edu

Nena Powell Rice (MA U of Denver 1990; Director of Outreach, SCIAA) Public Education, Archaeology Month Coordinator; Southwest, Artic, Southeast
Email: nrice@sc.edu

Steven D. Smith (MA U Kentucky 1983; Dir. Cultural Res. Div., SCIAA) Cultural resource mananagement. mititary sites arch
Email: smiths@mailbox.sc.edu

James D Spirek (MA E Carolina U 1993; Arch, SCIAA) Archaeology underwater submerged cultural resource management
Email: spirek@sc.edu

D Keith Stephenson (MA U Georgia 1990; Arch, SRARP) Compliance arch, woodland and Mississippian Social Organization, ceramic technologyof the Southease US; Southeast US
Email: stephensonk@sc.edu