Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

2017 Winners

The USC French Program recognizes student achievement biannually with travel scholarships and annually with excellence awards and Pi Delta Phi (French Honor Society).

French Award Winners for the 2017 Academic Year

Flickr from this year's ceremony

Amy B. Millstone Scholarship for Study Abroad

Ray Friedman, Robert William Simmons, Melissa Coley Slade (Institut de Touraine: Tours, France) 

Hannah Wilczewski (Sciences-Po: Paris, France)

Derial Jackson Memorial Scholarship

William Charles Stallings, Emily McCluskey, Anna Hall Reynolds, Aalia Soherwardy (USC in Tours Program) 

Elizabeth Joiner Study Abroad Award

Elisabeth Noblet, Grace Cooney (USC in Tours Program) 

French Alumni Scholarship

S. Elayne Bauer (ESSEC: Cergy, France)

John F. Kososki & Carol J. Kososki Scholarship

Gabrielle Amos (US Embassy: Paris, France), Jeremy Martinez (Institut de Touraine: Tours, France) 

Albert Ross Garner Award

Ray Friedman

Kyrl Leighton-Faxford de Gravelines Scholarship

Anne Jackson

Frances W. Bradley Award in Romance Languages

John Eagle Miles

 Excellence Award in Undergraduate French

Anna Farr

Highlights from the 2017 Awards Ceremony 

French Award Winners

John and Carol Kososki, founders and supporters of the John F. and Carol J. Kososki Scholarship, with this year's recipients: Gabrielle Amos and Jeremy Martinez

Kososkii 2017 Winners

Dr. Jeff Persels and this year's winners of the Derial Jackson Memorial Scholarship (from L to R: William Charles Stallings, Jeff Persels, Aalia Soherwardy, Anna Hall Reynolds)

Jackson 2017 Winners

Elizabeth Joiner with Ray Friedman, recipient of the Albert Ross Garner Award, and Elisabeth Noblet, recipient of the Elizabeth Joiner Study Abroad Award

Joiner 2017 Winners  

 This year's winner of the Department of Languages, Literatures & Culture's Awards (from L to R Anne Jackson, John Eagle Miles, Ray Friedman)

LLC 2017 French Winners

Dr. Alexandre Bonafos inducts the 2017 cohort into Pi Delta Phi. 

PDP 2017 Induction 

Some new Pi Delta Phi Inductees: (from L to R) Hannah Wilczewski, Gabrielle Amos, Sarah Cockroft, Emily Scott, John Eagle Miles

PDP 2017 Inductees 

 Merci à tous nos donateurs! Félicitations à tous nos étudiants!