Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Geography


Faculty

The Department of Geography has 18 full-time faculty members with teaching and research expertise that spans the discipline, including geographic information science, physical and environmental geography, nature and society studies, and human geography. Our faculty are also leaders and participants in a range of interdisciplinary programs and centers across campus, including the Environment and Sustainability Program and the Walker Institute of International and Area Studies.

 

Jessica Barnes
Assistant Professor - jointly appointed with School of Earth, Ocean, and Environment

Ph.D. 2010, Columbia University
Environment, resource politics, water, development, Middle East
Callcott 221 | jebarnes@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-9945

 Gregory J. Carbone
Professor and Acting Chair

Ph.D. 1990, University of Wisconsin
Weather and climate
Callcott 327-B | greg.carbone@sc.edu | (803) 777-0682

Susan L. Cutter
Carolina Distinguished Professor; Director, Hazards & Vulnerability Research Institute 

Ph.D. 1976, University of Chicago
Environmental hazards and risks, environmental policy, natural resources
Callcott 312 | scutter@sc.edu | (803) 777-1590

Kirstin Dow
Professor

Ph.D. 1996, Clark University
Human dimensions of environmental change, environmental hazards, environment and development
Callcott 213 | kdow@sc.edu | (803) 777-2482                          

Jean Taylor Ellis (Tedesco)
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor - jointly appointed with School of Earth, Ocean, and Environment

Ph.D. 2006, Texas A&M University
Geomorphology, aeolian and coastal sediment transport, coastal management, applied science
Callcott 229 | jellis@seoe.sc.edu | (803) 777-1593 

 Melanie Gall
Research Assistant Professor

Ph.D. 2007, University of South Carolina
Environmental hazards, hazard mitigation, climate adaptation, risk metrics, flood risk management, environmental justice
Callcott 311 | melanie.gall@sc.edu | (803) 777-9818

 Diansheng Guo
Associate Professor

Ph.D. 2003, Pennsylvania State University
GIScience, big data analytics, spatial datamining, information visualization, urban and health data analysis
Callcott 305 | guod@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-2989

 Conor M. Harrison
Assistant Professor - jointly appointed with School of Earth, Ocean, and Environment

Ph.D. 2014, University of North Carolina
Economic geography, political economy, energy, environmental sustainability
Callcott 111 | cmharris@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 576-6010

 April Hiscox
Associate Professor

Ph.D. 2006, University of Connecticut
Boundary layer meteorology, land-air interactions, forest meteorology, aerosol dispersion
Callcott 212 | hiscox@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-6604 

Michael E. Hodgson
Professor

Ph.D. 1987, University of South Carolina
Geographic Information Systems, remote sensing, hazards
Callcott 327-A | hodgsonm@sc.edu | (803) 777-8976                    

L. Allan James
Professor

Ph.D. 1988, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Geomorphology, hydrology, quaternary science, water resources
Callcott 206 | ajames@sc.edu | (803) 777-6117 

David Kneas
Assistant Professor - jointly appointed with School of Earth, Ocean, and Environment

Ph.D. 2014, Yale University
Political ecology, historical ethnography, Latin America
Callcott 326 | kneas@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-1308

 John A. Kupfer
Professor

Ph.D. 1995, University of Iowa
Biogeography, landscape ecology, public land and water management, spatial analysis
Callcott 220 | kupfer@sc.edu | (803) 777-5234

Zhenlong Li
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. 2015, George Mason University
GIScience, geospatial cyberinfrastructure, big data, high performance/cloud computing
Callcott 320 | zhenlong@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-4590

 Amy Mills
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor

 

Ph.D. 2004, University of Texas
Cultural landscapes and historical memory, urban cultures, place and identity, gender and urban space, nationalism and modernity, Middle East
Callcott 226 | amills@sc.edu | (803) 777-5688

Jerry Mitchell
Research Associate Professor; Director, Center for Excellence for Geographic Research

Ph.D. 1998, University of South Carolina
Environmental hazards, tourism, geographic education
Callcott 113 | mitchejt@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-2986

Cary J. Mock
Professor

Ph.D. 1994, University of Oregon
Synoptic climatology, climate change, historical and Quaternary environments
Callcott 211 | mockcj@sc.edu | (803) 777-1211

Caroline Nagel
Associate Professor

Ph.D. 1998, University of Colorado - Boulder
Migration, multiculturalism, citizenship, religion, Lebanon
Callcott 106 | cnagel@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-4970

 Cuizhen (Susan) Wang
Associate Professor

Ph.D. 2004, Michigan State University
Bioenvironmental remote sensing, GIS, spatial analysis
Callcott 310 | cwang@mailbox.sc.edu | (803) 777-5867