Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of History


Faculty Directory

Name Research Interests Phone Number Email
Christine Caldwell Ames European Medieval, Religious (803) 777-2734 amesc@sc.edu
Andrew Berns Jewish history, Renaissance Italy, history of medicine, environmental history (803) 777-4216 aberns@mailbox.sc.edu
Thomas J. Brown 19th-Century America (803) 777-2341 TJBrown@sc.edu
Matt D. Childs Atlantic World, Latin American, Caribbean, African Diaspora (803) 777-3189 childsmd@mailbox.sc.edu
Saskia Coenen Snyder European Jewish History (803) 777-7472 SaskiaCS@sc.edu
Bobby J. Donaldson American South, African American, Public History (803) 777-6282 BDonaldson@sc.edu
Don H. Doyle U.S. 19th century, international, Civil War (803) 777-6068 don.doyle@sc.edu
Kathryn Edwards Renaissance, Reformation, European Sociocultural (803) 777-7326 kathrynedwards@sc.edu
Jessica Elfenbein American urban, public history, history of philanthropy (803) 777-3282 jessicae@mailbox.sc.edu
Lacy K. Ford, Jr. U.S. since 1789, American South (803) 777-5195 Ford@mailbox.sc.edu
Kent Germany Modern U.S., American South, Politics, African American (803) 777-9587 Germany@sc.edu
Josh Grace African history (803) 777-2679 gracejr@mailbox.sc.edu
Carol E. Harrison Modern Europe, France, Gender and Religion (803) 777-6107 ceharris@mailbox.sc.edu
Wanda A. Hendricks U.S., Women, African American (803) 777-2184 HendricW@mailbox.sc.edu
Woody Holton Early American history, American Revolution, economic history (803) 777-7611 aholton@mailbox.sc.edu
Martine Jean Latin America (803) 777-4205 jeanM@mailbox.sc.edu
E. Gabrielle Kuenzli Modern Latin America, Andes (803) 777-2872 kuenzli@sc.edu
Thomas Lekan Modern Germany, Environmental History, Urban History (803) 777-5928 lekan@sc.edu
Daniel C. Littlefield Colonial America, African American (803) 777-0810 LittleDC@mailbox.sc.edu
Valinda Littlefield African American, African American Education, African American Women (803) 777-2747 LittleVW@mailbox.sc.edu
S. P. MacKenzie World War II, War and Cinema, Modern Warfare (803) 777-5195 Simon-Mackenzie@sc.edu
Allison Marsh Public History, History of Technology, Tourism (803) 777-0041 MarshA@mailbox.sc.edu
Nicole Maskiell Early US history, Comparative Native and African American Slavery, and Atlantic World 803-777-5195 Maskiell@mailbox.sc.edu
Matthew Melvin-Koushki Early Modern Islamic Intellectual and Cultural History, Occult Sciences, Iran (803) 777-2905 mmelvink@sc.edu
Warren Milteer Free People of Color in North Carolina 803-777-5195 Milteer@mailbox.sc.edu
Joseph A. November Biomedical History, History of Computing, U.S. History (803) 777-5152 november@sc.edu
Elena Osokina Russia, Soviet Union (803) 777-4578 osokina@mailbox.sc.edu
Dinyar Patel Modern Indian history, the Indian nationalist movement, Indian architecture and city planning, Bombay (Mumbai), Gujarat, the Parsi Zoroastrian community, Zoroastrianism 777-5195 Pateldi@mailbox.sc.edu
Adam M. Schor Ancient Mediterranean History (803) 777-1690 schor@mailbox.sc.edu
Lauren Rebecca Sklaroff Modern U.S. and American Cultural History (803) 576-5817 sklaroff@mailbox.sc.edu
Mark M. Smith Slavery, 19th-Century U.S., American South (803) 777-6362 Mark-Smith@sc.edu
David J. Snyder U.S. History and U.S. Foreign Relations (803) 777-6394 DJSnyder1@sc.edu
Marjorie J. Spruill U.S. History, Women and Gender, American South (803) 777-2927 marjorie.spruill@sc.edu
Patricia A. Sullivan Modern U.S., African American, Civil Rights (803) 777-2766 psulliv@mailbox.sc.edu
Robert R. Weyeneth Public History, Historic Preservation, African-American Heritage Preservation, American Social and Environmental History. (803) 777-6398 weyeneth@sc.edu
Colin Wilder Digital history, German history, history of capitalism, history of European legal and political thought 803-777-5195 Wildercf@mailbox.sc.edu
Yulian Wu Material culture, gender history, and luxury consumption in late imperial China (1300-1800) (803) 777-5195 YuWu@mailbox.sc.edu