Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Philosophy


Faculty

Name Email Interests
Anne Bezuidenhout anne1@sc.edu Pragmatics, Semantics/pragmatics interface, Theories of verbal communication, Experimental pragmatics, Philosophy of mind, Epistemology
F. Thomas Burke burket@mailbox.sc.edu Pragmatism, American Philosophy, Logic, Cognitive Science
John Ceballes ceballes@mailbox.sc.edu Kant, Ethics
Michael Dickson dickson@sc.edu philosophy of physics, general philosophy of science, game theory
Martin Donougho donougho@gmail.com
Christopher Frey freyc@mailbox.sc.edu Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Perception and Mind, Metaphysics
Jennifer A. Frey frey.jenn@gmail.com Virtue Ethics, Philosophy of Action, Meta-ethics, and History of Philosophy.
Glenn Gentry gentryg@mailbox.sc.edu
Jeremiah Hackett hackettj@mailbox.sc.edu History of Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Moral Philosophy
Margaret Houck HOUCKMM@mailbox.sc.edu Ethics
George Khushf khushf@sc.edu Bioethics, Philosophy of Medicine, Philosophy and Ethics of Emerging Science and Technology
Matthew Kisner mattkisner@hotmail.com Early Modern Philosophy, History of Ethics
Tarja Knuuttila knuuttil@mailbox.sc.edu General Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of the Special Sciences, Interdisciplinary Research, Science and Technology Studies.
Gene Long longg@mailbox.sc.edu
Leah McClimans mccliman@mailbox.sc.edu Bioethics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Social Science
Robert Mulvaney rmulvaney@hurontel.on.ca
Alfred Nordmann nordmann@phil.tu-darmstadt.de Philosophy and history of science and techno sciences
Anne Pollok apollok@sc.edu Philosophy of Culture; Aesthetics in the continental tradition; History of Early Modern Philosophy, esp. German Enlightenment
Konstantin Pollok pollok@sc.edu early modern philosophy - Kant, and Kantianisms - early modern history of science - history of ethics, metaethics, and political philosophy
Katherine Robinson kwrobin@bellsouth.net Environmental Philosophy
Ed Munn Sanchez munne@mailbox.sc.edu
Heike Sefrin-Weis sefrinwe@mailbox.sc.edu Ancient Philosophy, Ancient Science, History of Mathematics
Ignas Skrupskelis iksas@PBTCOMM.NET
Michael Stoeltzner stoeltzn@sc.edu Philosophy and History of Physics, Philosophy and History of Applied Mathematics, Epistemology of Elementary Particle Physics, Models and Ceteris Paribus Laws, Patterns of Formal Teleology
Christopher Tollefsen Christopher.Tollefsen@gmail.com Natural Law ethics; philosophy of action; bioethics; practical ethics
Jeffrey Turner turner@sc.edu Ethics
Tom Vogt tvogt@mailbox.sc.edu Epistemology and techniques of imaging; philosophy of chemistry
Jerry Wallulis jtwallul@mailbox.sc.edu Contemporary Continental Social Philosophy, German and French Social Philosophy
Justin Weinberg jweinberg@sc.edu Political Philosophy, Ethics