Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Political Science

Professor Harvey Starr Elected to Presidency of ISA

Distinguished Professor Harvey Starr, the Dag Hammarskjold Professor in International Affairs, has been elected to the position of President-elect of the International Studies Association.  Harvey, who has been a member of the Department since 1989 and served as its Chair from 1998-2006, will serve as President-elect of the ISA for one year (2012-13), and then as President for one year (2013-14).  The last member of our faculty to earn this prestigious honor was retired Distinguished Professor Charles Kegley, and it means that this Department and University has now had two Presidents of this prominent, international, professional association.  Harvard and Ohio State have each produced 3 ISA Presidents, and only five other schools have produced 2 (the Universities of Southern California, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh, and George Washington University). 

The International Studies Association is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in the broad field of international studies, with a membership of 5,000 representing 80 countries across the globe.  Founded in 1959, ISA creates communities of scholars within the broad field of international studies by dividing into six geographic regions and twenty-three section groups, providing opportunities to scholars to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas. 

Friday, March 23, 2012