Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Political Science

West Forum Small Fellowship for Spring 2013 Dissertation Research

The University of South Carolina’s Department of Political Science will award six West Forum Dissertation Research fellowships of up to $1500.00 for Spring 2013. These fellowships will be awarded to outstanding political science doctoral students who have demonstrated excellence in their doctoral studies in the department and significant progress toward completion of their dissertation project. These awards may be used to support additional research needs such as short field research trips, methodological workshops (e,g., ICPSR Summer Program, Consortium of Qualitative Research Methods, EITM Summer Workshop, Summer Institute in Political Psychology), scholarly workshops, extended library visits (e.g., to visit the Library of Congress,  to visit the British Library of Political and Economic Science) and or research equipment (such as data purchases). 

Eligibility: Candidates must have completed at least two years in the graduate program and maintain an overall GPA of 3.5 or greater. Priority will be given to students who have reached ABD status and or students who are in their Comprehensive examination semester. Applicants will be evaluated on their academic progress and significance of the request to completion of the dissertation. Individuals who have previously received the West Fund Small Fellowship are ineligible for the 2013 fellowship program.

Submission Guidelines: Applicants should provide a letter of request (which includes a discussion of how the proposed request relates to completion of the dissertation), and a current curriculum vitae. Please submit required documents to the Department of Political Science c/o: Brenda Stevens, 350 Gambrell Hall, Columbia South Carolina, 29208.

Deadline: Please submit your application by March 1, 2013.

Award Announcement and Distribution: Awardees of the West Fund Small Fellowship will be notified by March 15, 2013. Awards will be distributed no later than April 1, 2013.   

Friday, February 15, 2013