Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Sociology


Faculty and Staff Directory

Faculty

Name Email Interests
Douglas L. Anderton
CAS Distinguished Professor & Chair
dla@sc.edu Population Studies, Statistics and Environmental Health
Jennifer Augustine
Assistant Professor
Augustjm@mailbox.sc.edu Family sociology, social demography, population health, human development, education
Matthew Brashears
Associate Professor
brasheam@mailbox.sc.edu Social Network Analysis, Social Psychology, Mathematical Sociology, Gender, Political Sociology/Terrorism
Laura Brashears
Adjunct Professor
BRASHEAL@mailbox.sc.edu Social Psychology, Sociology of Education, Race/Ethnicity
Jason L. Cummings
Assistant Professor
jcumming@mailbox.sc.edu Medical sociology, Mental Health, Race/Gender & Stratification
Mathieu Deflem
Professor
deflem@mailbox.sc.edu Law, Social Control, Policing, Counterterrorism, Popular Culture, Sociological Theory
Caroline Hartnett
Assistant Professor
hartnetc@mailbox.sc.edu Demography, Family Sociology, Childbearing, Parent-Child Relationships
Andrea K. Henderson
Assistant Professor
AKHender@mailbox.sc.edu Religion, Race and ethnicity, Health and wellness, Family.
Barry Markovsky
Professor
barry@sc.edu Social Psychology, Theoretical Methods
Carla A. Pfeffer
Associate Professor
pfefferc@mailbox.sc.edu Body and Embodiment, Families, Sex and Gender, Sexualities, Qualitative Methods
Jimy Sanders
Professor
jimsand@sc.edu Immigration and minority groups, Stratification and mobility, Statistics
Brent Simpson
Professor & Graduate Program Director
bts@sc.edu Social Psychology, Networks, Social Order, Trust, Cooperation & Collective Action, Inequality
Shelley Smith
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Program Director
shelley-smith@sc.edu Socioeconomic inequality and stratification, Statistics, Social structures.
Shane Thye
Professor
srthye@sc.edu Social Psychology, Power, Emotions, Statistical Methods, Social Order

Staff

Name Email
Anne Hodasi
Administrative Specialist II
Hodasi@mailbox.sc.edu
Alicia Hope
Administrative Assistant
Ahope@mailbox.sc.edu