Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Computing and Information Technology


Information Technology Advisory Committee (ITAC)

The Information Technology Advisory Committee (ITAC) is a standing committee appointed by the Dean of the College to discuss the broad range of IT issues important to the College, and to give clear and timely counsel to the dean.

To function as a major research and teaching unit, the College must attend to the design, development, and implementation, support, and management of computer-based information system, particularly software applications and computer hardware to support our key functions. Three distinct, but interrelated areas of IT are: (1) instructional, including distance learning, and web-based course support, (2) scientific computing, including computer clusters, data backup, high bandwidth networking, and research software, and (3) office, including communication, document management, desktop and desktop hardware, and network security. 

The ITAC Comittee will: 

1.  Review and evaluate technology needs of the College and identify opportunities to leverage and focus IT resources in areas of IT;

2.  Review, recommend, and formulate IT related policies, procedures, and standards;

3.  Ensure the College has an appropriate role in planning and implementing campus and system IT initiatives;

4.  Assist with communication and coordination among and between the departments and programs, the College computing centers, the Office of Research, and University Technology Services;

5.  Identify the training and staff development needed to take full advantage of IT resources.

Each spring semester the dean solicits proposals for instructional technology using E700 funds.  The primary criterion for evaluation of E700 proposals is expected instructional impact, measured by the number of students and courses affected, the prospects for continuing use of the technology, potential for inter-departmental, cost, installation and maintenance requirements, recurring costs, and the departments' ability to cost share with lab fees or other departmental resources.

The College Director of IT and the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education serve as ex-officio members. The Chair of the committee is appointed by the Dean and will host meetings several times during the year.  

Name

Department

Email

Committee Chair

 

 

Vitaly Rassolov

Chemistry and Biochemistry

rassolov@mailbox.sc.edu

Members

 

 

Alexander Yankovsky

Earth and Ocean Sciences

ayankovsky@geol.sc.edu

Allison Marsh

History

marsha@mailbox.sc.edu

Peter Binev

Interdisciplinary Mathematics Inst.

binev@mailbox.sc.edu

Subrahmanyam Bulusu

Marine Science Program

sbulusu@geog.sc.edu

Carl Rosenfeld

Physics and Astronomy

lcr@mailbox.sc.edu

John Richards

Psychology

richards@mailbox.sc.edu

Jim Hunter

Theater and Dance

hunterj@mailbox.sc.edu

Olga Ivashkevich

Visual Art & Design

olga@sc.edu

Ex Officio Members

 

 

David Mullaney

CAS Computing Center

dmullane@mailbox.sc.edu

Hanno Zur Loye

Dean's Office

zurloye@mailbox.sc.edu