Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Theatre and Dance

Professor Emeritus Named Fellow of American Theatre

Distinguished Professor Emeritus Jim O'Connor received the high honor in a ceremony at the Kennedy Center on April 22, 2017.

Jim O'Connor

Distinguished Professor Emeritus Jim O’Connor added to his already impressive list of career honors in late April, receiving one of the highest honors bestowed to theatre professionals.

O’Connor was inducted as a Fellow of the American Theatre in a ceremony held April 22, 2017 at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC.  The honor was bestowed by the College of Fellows of the American Theatre.

The now-independent College of Fellows was originally established in 1965 as part of the American Educational Theatre Association.  From the beginning, its stated mission has been “to promote and encourage the highest standards of research, writing, and creativity in educational and professional theatre through honoring distinguished service and notable accomplishment by individuals of recognized national stature.”  O’Connor joins a list of Fellows that includes such luminaries as Edward Albee, Paula Vogel, William Ivey Long and Jane Alexander, among many others.

Professor O’Connor served as Chair of the UofSC Department of Theatre and Dance from 1997-2004.  He previously served ten years as the Chair and Artistic Director of the theatre program at Purdue University, two terms as President of the University/Resident Theatre Association, and was elected to the National Theatre Conference.  In 2008, O’Connor was named a Distinguished Professor of Theatre by the Universiti Teknologi in Shah Alam, Malaysia.  He just recently returned from a five-month residency in Kuala Lumpur, where he taught directing, and directed a production, at the National Arts Academy.