Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
The Open Book

David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas

David Mitchell is the acclaimed author of the novels Black Swan Green, which was selected as one of the 10 Best Books of the Year by Time; Cloud Atlas, which was a Man Booker Prize finalist; Number9Dream, which was short-listed for the Man Booker as well as the James Tait Black Memorial Prize; Ghostwritten, awarded the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for best book by a writer under thirty-five and short-listed for the Guardian First Book Award; and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet. He lives in Ireland. In Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell erases the boundaries of language, genre, and time to offer a meditation on humanity’s dangerous will to power, and where it may lead us. Newsday described is as “revolutionary,” while the Washington Times said, “[Mitchell’s] exuberant, Nabokovian delight in word play; his provocative grapplings with the great unknowables; and most of all his masterful storytelling: All coalesce to make Cloud Atlas an exciting, almost overwhelming masterpiece.”

David Mitchell spoke at The Open Book on March 26, 2014
David Mitchell