Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Hazards & Vulnerability Research Institute

Dr. Susan Cutter honored by two distinguished awards

April 8, 2019

Dr. Susan Cutter was honored at the recent American Assocation of Geographers (AAG) meetings with two of its highest accolades.  She was named an AAG Fellow, a program that recognizes geographers who have made significant contributions to their field.  This honorary title is conferred for life and as an AAG Fellow, she remains part of the expanding advisory body for the association.

Dr. Cutter also received the most prestigious research award in the AAG, The Wilbanks Prize for Transformational Research in Geography.  Established in 2018, Cutter is the second recipient to receive this award named in honor of the late Thomas J. Wilbanks.  The citation reads, "Dr. Cutter, Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography and Director of the Hazards and Vulnerability Research Institute, has made transformative, far-reaching research contributions to geography and the broader interdisciplinary research communities that focus on hazards and disasters. Her work led to development of the Social Vulnerability Index, the first nationwide empirical representation of social vulnerability. The Index is used in FEMA’s National Risk Assessment toolkit and by many other nations.  She also pioneered the Baseline Resilience Indicators for Communities, a county-level assessment of disaster resilience; the Hazards of Place model of vulnerability, which analyzes the contributions of physical and social vulnerability to overall place vulnerability; and the Disaster Resilience of Place model, which identify place-based differences and measures progress towards resilient goals and outcomes."