Skip to Content

College of Arts & Sciences
Hazards & Vulnerability Research Institute

HVRI Awards at the AAG

April 8, 2019

HVRI faculty and students won numerous awards at the recent American Association of Geographers (AAG) annual meeting in Washington, D.C.  

Yago Martín received the Jeanne X. Kasperson student paper award from the Hazards, Risk, and Disasters Specialty Group for his paper, “Tracking the Disruption of Hurricane Maria on Population Flows in Puerto Rico through Geotagged Tweets.”

Susan Cutter received the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from the AAG Human Dimensions of Global Change Specialty Group for her cumulative contributions in research, teaching, and service that have shaped the field of human-environment geography.